Log in




     Serving the Horticulture Industry Since 1899

Sidney B. Meadows Scholarship Endowment Fund Awards $18,000 to Twelve Students

27 Aug 2012 5:44 PM | Karen Summers (Administrator)

Atlanta, Ga., August 27, 2012 – The Sidney B. Meadows Scholarship Fund has announced the names of twelve students from eight southeastern universities chosen to receive academic scholarships this year. The $1,500 awards, totaling $18,000, were presented to:

Jared Barnes – North Carolina State University

Johanna Cricenti – Virginia Tech

Cody Gilstrap – University of Arkansas - Fayetteville (Dr. James & Faye Foret Scholarship)

Jason Lattier – North Carolina State University

Eric Limbird – Middle Tennessee State University

William Mears – University of Arkansas – Fayetteville

Justin Menke – University of Kentucky

Irene Palmer – North Carolina State University

Deanna Reid            – Ferrum College

Elizabeth Riley – North Carolina State University

Jacob Shreckhise – Virginia Tech (Art & Millie Lancaster Scholarship)

Adrienne Smith – University of Florida (Robert L. VanLandingham Scholarship).

Scholarship recipients are determined through a competitive application process, administered by a selection committee, based on academics, determination, demonstrated interest in the horticulture industry, and financial need. This year’s recipients were chosen from a pool of nearly 30 well-qualified applicants.

“Congratulations to this exemplary group of students who have excelled academically and demonstrated determination and a passion for horticulture,” said Danny Summers, Executive Vice President of the fund. “These scholarship awards will help lighten their financial load as they pursue their careers and I am confident each of these students will make an effective and positive contribution to our industry. I look forward to seeing their accomplishments as they complete their studies,” he added.

To date, a total of $419,500 has been awarded since the fund was established. The fund’s current assets are now more than $750,000. Seven named funds have been pledged: the Carolina Weed Science Fund, the Dr. James & Faye Foret Fund, the Richard J. “Dick” Hackney Fund, Sr. Fund, the Lee C. Howell Fund, the Arthur A. “Buck” Jones Fund, the Art & Millie Lancaster Fund, and the Robert L. VanLandingham Fund. The financial support offered by the fund has allowed many students the opportunity to begin or continue to work toward their educational goals.

Created in 1989 by the Southern Nursery Association (SNA), The Sidney B. Meadows Scholarship Endowment Fund is a 501 (c) 3 corporation providing scholarships to students in sixteen southeastern states – Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia – pursuing a career in horticulture. The scholarship is dedicated to one of the most honored horticultural leaders, the late Sidney B. Meadows, who was an avid supporter of student scholarships and believed that providing aid for students was an important way to ensure the growth and development of all facets of the industry.

The fund derives its income from individual and corporate contributions and is governed by the Sidney B. Meadows Scholarship Endowment Fund board of directors.

Applications for 2013 scholarships will be available on the fund’s website ( in early January. Those interested in receiving scholarship information or the latest fund news can subscribe to the automated information system on the fund’s website.

More information on the 2012 scholarship recipients can be found at In the coming months the site will feature a review of previous scholarship winners, their current status and contributions to the horticulture industry.

For more information on the Sidney B. Meadows Scholarship Endowment Fund forward your inquiry to PO Box 801513, Acworth, GA 30101, 678.813.1880, or visit


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software