Log in




     Serving the Horticulture Industry Since 1899

Sidney B. Meadows Scholarship Endowment Fund Awards $18,000 to Twelve Students

20 Nov 2013 9:28 AM | Karen Summers (Administrator)

The Sidney B. Meadows Scholarship Fund has announced the names of twelve students from eight southeastern universities chosen to receive academic scholarships this year. The $1,500 awards, totaling $18,000, were presented to:

Jared Barnes – North Carolina State University

Jamie Felipe – Auburn University

Lauren Gragg – North Carolina State University

Laura Kaderabek – North Carolina State University

Daniel Leonard – University of Florida at Milton (Dr. James & Faye Foret Scholarship)

Julienne NeSmith – University of Florida

David Roberts – North Carolina State University (Robert L. VanLandingham Scholarship)

James Rockwell – Virginia Tech (Art & Millie Lancaster Scholarship)

Andrew Scruggs – North Carolina State University

Kimberly Shearer - North Carolina State University

Kevin Trostel – Middle Tennessee State University

Sanford Wooten – North Carolina State University

Scholarship recipients are determined through a competitive application process, administered by a selection committee, based on academics, determination, demonstrated interest in the horticulture industry, and financial need. This year’s recipients were chosen from a pool of nearly 30 well-qualified applicants.

“Congratulations to this exemplary group of students who have excelled academically and demonstrated determination and a passion for horticulture,” said Danny Summers, Executive Vice President of the fund. “These scholarship awards will help lighten their financial load as they pursue their careers and I am confident each of these students will make an effective and positive contribution to our industry. I look forward to seeing their accomplishments as they complete their studies,” he added.

To date, a total of $437,500 has been awarded since the fund was established. The fund’s current assets are now more than $800,000. Seven named funds have been pledged: the Carolina Weed Science Fund, the Dr. James & Faye Foret Fund, the Richard J. “Dick” Hackney Fund, Sr. Fund, the Lee C. Howell Fund, the Arthur A. “Buck” Jones Fund, the Art & Millie Lancaster Fund, and the Robert L. VanLandingham Fund. The financial support offered by the fund has allowed many students the opportunity to begin or continue to work toward their educational goals.

Created in 1989 by the Southern Nursery Association (SNA), The Sidney B. Meadows Scholarship Endowment Fund is a 501 (c) 3 corporation providing scholarships to students in sixteen southeastern states – Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia – pursuing a career in horticulture. The scholarship is dedicated to one of the most honored horticultural leaders, the late Sidney B. Meadows, who was an avid supporter of student scholarships and believed that providing aid for students was an important way to ensure the growth and development of all facets of the industry.

The fund derives its income from individual and corporate contributions and is governed by the Sidney B. Meadows Scholarship Endowment Fund board of directors.

Applications for 2014 scholarships will be available on the fund’s website ( in early January. Those interested in receiving scholarship information or the latest fund news can subscribe to the automated information system on the fund’s website.

More information on the 2013 scholarship recipients can be found at For more information on the Sidney B. Meadows Scholarship Endowment Fund forward your inquiry to PO Box 801513, Acworth, GA 30101, 678.813.1880, or visit

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software